Silver City Sorrow

by The Wild Comforts

supported by
THEO GEENEN thumbnail
THEO GEENEN Produced by the great Bill Chambers Favorite track: Bombshell Motel.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $15 AUD


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Silver City Sorrow via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $25 AUD or more 




Since 2011 Melbourne based The Wild Comforts have been making toes tap and tears well, filling ears around Australia with a unique brand of country music that is soulful, raw, and melodic.

In March 2014, The Wild Comforts spent a magic, hallucinatory week on the NSW central coast recording their sophomore album with Australian country music legend Bill Chambers. In between BBQs, parties, incredible gigs, and impromptu serenades by a bush poet, the lads put together Silver City Sorrow.

The core of the album lies in the songwriting pen of front-man Joshua Deeble. He grew up in Broken Hill, NSW, and his songs still carry the dust of that desert town. Shot through with heartbreaks new and old, shiverings of troubled faith, and drunken revelry. These are songs that capture the spirit of country music, even as they borrow freely from folk, punk, and blues.

The bedrock of the album was put down with Bill Chambers and Jeff McCormack at The Music Cellar — the hallowed walls bearing awards for artists like Paul Kelly and Kasey Chambers. There the band recorded Ben Drane's freight train drums, Kinch Kinski's thunking basslines, Josh Redford's high singing guitar, and Deeble's tasteful rhythm guitar.

Recording then moved to Bill Chambers' studio The Boneyard overlooking the swampy surrounds of Bensville, NSW. The place felt a little like the deep south of the USA. The air was hot and damp, alive with insects flourishing in the wet, and Hank Williams songs drifted through front door screens into the afternoon air.

At The Boneyard, Deeble used the vocal booth as a confession box, laying down the melancholy lead vocals. His cousin Raechel Lee dropped a spoonful of sugar into the mix adding her sweet vocal harmonies and Bill's daughter Kasey showed up too, putting down a haunting harmony line for the album's first single ‘Cosette’. Chambers himself got hands-on with production, adding perfect instrumental lines on lap steel, mandolin, banjo, harmonica, and a variety of electric guitars.

The end result is an album of ten cracking songs about everything from the deep pain of family discord to the frustrations of domestic life, there are ballads, bawlers, brawlers, and heartbreakers. There is no filler.


released January 9, 2015

Joshua Deeble: vocals, guitar & piano
Ben Drane: drums
Josh Redford: electric guitar
Kinch Kinski: bass & vocal harmonies

Kasey Chambers: vocal harmony on track 2
Raechel Lee: vocal harmonies
Bill Chambers: mandolin, dobro, banjo, lap-steel, electric guitars, harmonica and vocal harmony

Band tracks recorded at Music Cellar by Jeff McCormack
Overdubs recorded at The Boneyard by Bill Chambers

All Songs written by Joshua Deeble
Produced by Bill Chambers & Joshua Deeble
Mixed by Bill Chambers & Joshua Deeble
Mastered by Jeff McCormack
Album Design by Ben Drane



all rights reserved


The Wild Comforts Melbourne, Australia

Melbourne based raucous country rocker wannabes

contact / help

Contact The Wild Comforts

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code